Chapter Accreditation

Chapter Standards

A Chapter of National Children’s Alliance is a recognized entity that:

  • Represents a collaborative effort among membership, staff and its governing entity
  • Provides support services to emerging and existing children’s advocacy centers (CACs) and multidisciplinary teams (MDTs)
  • Assists with the development, continuation, and enhancement of the CAC model throughout the state
  • Facilitates a collaborative statewide network dedicated to a coordinated and comprehensive response to child abuse
  • Serves as a leading resource within the state in regard to child abuse issues and the children’s advocacy center model

The following five Standards must be met in order for a State Chapter to be accredited with the National Children’s Alliance. In addition, a Chapter must demonstrate compliance with all related Essential Components for each of the five Accreditation Standards. Essential Components along with other relevant guidelines and information can be found in the NCA Chapter Standards and Related Guidelines PDF below.

  1. Organizational Capacity:  The Chapter operates as a membership organization, has established and maintains a designated legal entity responsible for organizational, programmatic and fiscal operations, and employs sound administrative and financial practices. (13 Essential Components)
  2. Membership:  The Chapter has defined membership categories, eligibility criteria, organizational authority and a process for application and renewal of membership status. Membership categories and eligibility requirements are congruent with and inclusive of NCA membership categories and recognize and reflect the evolving levels of development among children’s advocacy centers and multidisciplinary teams. The Chapter facilitates ongoing networking opportunities among its membership statewide. (6 Essential Components)
  3. Growth and Development: The Chapter conducts an annual assessment of served, under-served and un-served areas within its state boundaries, including but not limited to NCA Gap Analysis, and addresses the ongoing establishment and sustainability of children’s advocacy centers equipped to provide the full array of evidence-based CAC services for children and families throughout the entire state. (4 Essential Components)
  4. Training and Technical Assistance: The Chapter identifies and addresses the evolving training and technical assistance needs of existing and emerging children’s advocacy centers throughout the state. (4 Essential Components)
  5. Awareness and Education: The Chapter serves as a leading resource throughout the state by supporting efforts to (1) Increase awareness about child abuse and the children’s advocacy center model; and (2) Reform systems to ensure improved opportunities and outcomes for child abuse victims.  (5 Essential Components)

Chapter Standards Revised for 2020

Chapter Accreditation Application Process

Chapter Accreditation Process Details



Looking for Help?

Find an NCA member location