National Children’s Alliance Announces New Members of the 2015 Executive Committee and Board of Directors

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

David Betz of John Deere Elected as 2015 Board President
Washington, D.C.

Effective May 31, 2015, National Children’s Alliance welcomed four new board members and elected six new members to the organization’s Executive Committee of the Board.

Included in these new elections was David Betz as the organization’s Board President for the 2015 term. David has been as a volunteer leader for National Children’s Alliance for over a decade, beginning his service as an accreditation standards reviewer. During his tenure with the organization, David moved through the ranks in various roles including site reviewer, Accreditation Chair, and Vice President. This is his fifth year as a board member for National Children’s Alliance. Outside of his commitment to National Children’s Alliance, David serves as Manager of Security for Deere and Company (John Deere) where he manages security for the six main facilities for John Deere in Black Hawk County, Iowa. David is also an Advisory Board member for the Allen Hospital Child Protection Center in Waterloo, Iowa and current Vice President for the Iowa Chapter of Child Advocacy Centers.

“With nearly two decades of experience serving child victims of abuse and their families in various capacities, David brings with him a wealth of knowledge and experience to our organization. We look forward to the leadership he will provide us as we move our organization further into the future,” remarked Teresa Huizar, Executive Director of National Children’s Alliance.

Sharing in Ms. Huizar’s remarks, David stated, “It’s all about the kids and helping the providers serve the kids and their families across the country. In order to do the job, or volunteer on a Board of an organization like National Children’s Alliance, there needs to be passion, commitment, and an inherent drive to want to do this work. I know this is where my heart is and where I belong.”

The full Executive Committee for the 2015 term will be:
David Betz (John Deere) – President
Karen Farst (Center for Children at Risk) – Immediate Past President and Accreditation Chair
Beth Brandes (Consultant) – Vice President
Janet Fine (National Vicarious Trauma Toolkit Project) – Treasurer and Secretary
Ernestine Briggs-King (Duke University Center for Child & Family Health) – Strengthening Practices Committee Chair
Karen Meyer (Welltok, Inc.) – Development Committee Chair

National Children’s Alliance is also pleased to welcome four new members to its board of directors. The following individuals began their first three-year term on May 31, 2015:
Carole Campbell Swiecicki, Ph.D. (The Dee Norton Lowcountry Children’s Center)
Kevin Dowling (CARES Northwest)
Alethea Miller (Hartford County Children’s Advocacy Center)
Leanda Welker, LCSW (Hartford County Children’s Advocacy Center)

For more information about National Children’s Alliance visit


National Children’s Alliance is the national association and accrediting body for the over 800 Children’s Advocacy Centers and 47 State Chapters serving each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Dedicated to helping local communities respond to allegations of child abuse in ways that are effective and efficient, and put the needs of child victims of abuse first, National Children’s Alliance provides support and advocacy to its accredited membership, as well as numerous developing centers, multidisciplinary teams and child abuse professionals around the country, and the world. As the national authority on multidisciplinary approaches to supporting child victims of abuse, the purpose of National Children’s Alliance is to empower local communities to provide comprehensive, coordinated and compassionate services to victims of child abuse. Founded in 1990, National Children’s Alliance provides accreditation opportunities, financial assistance, training, technical assistance, research and education to communities, child abuse professionals and children’s advocacy centers throughout the United States in support of child abuse intervention, advocacy and prevention.